Carroll County’s Community Action Agency for 30 years!

Need help? Call us! (410) 857-2999

HSP Executive Leadership Team

Scott Yard, Executive Director

Email: syard@hspinc.org

Scott Yard directs and oversees the overall success of HSP. Scott joined the HSP team in 2016 as a Program Director. In July 2018, after two years with growing responsibilities, Scott was asked to serve as the Acting Executive Director. In December 2020, the Board of Directors selected Scott to serve as the Executive Director. Scott began his non-profit career in Westminster at Target Education and Community Services. Scott has also worked at the Keystone Human Services agency, as well as CHANGE Inc., prior to joining HSP.

Originally from Baltimore, Scott joined the Carroll County community in 2000 when he began his college career at Western Maryland College – now known as McDaniel College.

Scott actively participates in the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce. In addition, Scott is a 20-year veteran to the sport of powerlifting. He donates his time and talent to helping and mentoring young, upcoming powerlifters.


Thomas Welliver, Executive Director

Email: twelliver@hspinc.org

Thomas “Tom” Welliver oversees Finance, Accounting, Grant Compliance, Human Resources and Risk Management at HSP. Tom has 36 years of experience in Finance and Accounting working in the Commercial Real Estate and Non-Proft sections as a Chief Financial Officer (CFO). Prior to joining HSP, Tom served as the CFO for Comprehensive Housing Assistance Inc., Health Care for the Homeless and the Maryland Center for History and Culture.

Originally from Westminster, Tom graduated from Wake Forest University in 1987 and returned to Westminster after spending 18 years in North Carolina.

Tom is very active in numerous non-profits Board of Directors. He currently serves on the Board of Access Carroll, Westminster Kiwanis, Westminster Community of Shalom and Carroll County Christian Men’s Breakfast. He recently served on the Board of Directors of Lifebridge Health, Carroll Hospital Center, McDaniel College and the Westminster Boys and Girls Club.

Joyce Tierney, Director of Family Support Program

Email: jtierney@hspinc.org

Joyce Tierney oversees HSP’s Family Support Program and has served as the Family Center Director since 1998. Prior to her time at HSP, Joyce was the Substance Abuse Prevention Coordinator for Carroll County and worked for Junction, Inc. It was this experience, combined with her educational background, that led her to HSP and her role in the Family Center. The opportunity to make a difference in the lives of young children and their families was very enticing to Joyce.

Joyce holds a Master of Science degree in Counseling Psychology from Loyola College.

In addition to her work at HSP, Joyce is active in her church community. For more than 30 years, Joyce has helped facilitate marriage preparation sessions.

Jennifer Graybill, Director of Shelter & Housing Program

Email: jgraybill@hspinc.org

Jennifer “Jenny” Graybill oversees the homeless entry point for Carroll County, including: three emergency shelters, various housing programs, as well as Opportunity WORKS, financial education services and a tax preparation site. For more than 15 years, Jenny has created and implemented life-changing programs to help provide opportunity for those at-risk in our community. Her previous work experience includes local and state correctional institutions and the direction of Carroll County’s work program for Temporary Cash and Food Stamp recipients.

Jenny holds a bachelor’s degree in Sociology and Certificate in Law & Public Service from Dickinson College. In addition, she is certified as a National Results Oriented Management and Accountability Trainer, as well as a Chamber of Commerce Leadership Carroll Graduate.

Jenny currently serves as the Chair of Transportation Advisory Committee, and she is a Chamber of Commerce Ambassador. Always dedicated to helping people help themselves and advocating for those in need, Jenny is a board member of the Carroll County Landlord Association and Habitat for Humanity.

Robyn Bridges, Director of Home Energy Program

Email: rbridges@hspinc.org

Robyn Bridges oversees the Home Energy Program at HSP, working with Maryland’s Office of Home Energy Programs (OHEP) to assist Carroll County residents with electric and fuel costs, as well as bill assistance. Managing a team of six, Robyn is responsible for all OHEP outreach and certification of all applications. Prior to moving into OHEP, Robyn worked part time at HSP in three different shelters, while working full time in the school system. For more than seven years, Robyn has been helping move HSP’s mission forward. 

Robyn holds a high school diploma from Fort Hill high School. In addition, she is a Certified Dental Assistant and was a licensed home daycare provider for 10 years. 

Robyn has also worked in public schools as an instructional assistant for Special Education.

Vickie Slinkman, Director of Development

Email: vslinkman@hspinc.org

Vickie Slinkman oversees HSP’s fundraising and marketing efforts, providing strategic direction and long-term planning for the organization’s Development Department.  Vickie has worked in marketing for over 20 years. Prior to joining the HSP team, Vickie worked at Ting as its Marketing Manager.

Vickie holds a bachelor’s degree in marketing from the University of Maryland, College Park and a Master of Business Administration with a specialization in marketing from Loyola University Maryland.

Vickie is active in the community, serving on the board of The Mid-Atlantic Gigabit Innovation Collaboratory and Find Your Purpose.  Vickie is also a community organizer for 1Million Cups Westminster.

Through HSP, Vickie is a member of the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce. She also participates in the Association of Fundraising Professionals Western Maryland Chapter.

Photos courtesy of Salted Frame Photography

Skip to content